kathorus News

David Makhura set to retain his position as Gauteng premier



Gauteng ANC chairman David Makhura name has been officially nominated as the province premier again.

This was revealed in a special meeting held in Irene, Tshwane by the ANC national working committee on Monday.

Makhura was amongst other seven nominees from other provinces, this was highlighted in statement released by the ANC secretary general Ace Magashule.

The issue of North West it was agreed that the candidate will be announced after ANC’s internal discussion.

A statement released by the party on Monday night said the organisation was guided by the principles of gender parity, unity and stability in ANC structures. Furthermore it also wanted to achieve a balanced in youth intergenerational mix while harnessing member’s experience and integrity.

The list include names of people who are currently holding same positions which means some will return their premier positions in some provinces like Limpopo Premier Stan Mathabathe, Free State premier Sisi Ntombela, Mpumalanga Refilwe Mtsweni and Gauteng David Makhura.

The NEC received three names per province as recommended by their provincial Executive committees.

All the eight provinces governed by ANC beside Western Cape sent their candidates through their provincial leaders.

The list of all nominated Premeir candidate:

Eastern Cape – Oscar Mabuyane

Free state – Sisi Ntombela

Gauteng- David Makhura

Kwazulu Natal- Sihle Zikalala

Limpopo- Stan Matnabathe

Mpumalanga- Refilwe Mtsweni

Northen Cape- Refilwe Mtsweni



About the author

Pamela Vilakazi

Pamela Vilakazi is a recent Journalism graduate. Working for a community newspaper has allowed her to use her skill to educate, inform and uplift her community through the stories that she writes. Her interests are crime, politics, sports and entertainment.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment